Stuttering, lag and hangs

Hello,

I purchased the game today from Direct2Drive. It lags at seemingly random times, and it also hangs when summoning creatures or bringing up menus, even in town. It doesn't happen all the time and it doesn't crash or freeze, it is simply as if it pauses for a couple of seconds. I read that you should lower particle effects and whatnot but I cannot imagine my system having issue with this. I am not a programmer, but as an experienced gamer, it feels like a memory leak as it gradually got worse as I played.

Specs:

Windows 7 RC1 64-Bit
EVGA x58
Intel Core i7 920
8Gb DDR3
dual raptor HDDs
BFG 285GTX

(But in all fairness it runs much better than I anticipated, seeing the development time and I am enjoying it!)

edit:DXDIAG for my playing display

dxdiag.jpg

Comments

• DLovettDLovett Posts: 26
    Yep, I have what seems like an memory leak as well. Performance is slowly detoriating as time passes.

Since I am also experiencing tearing, I will try to enable VSYNC tomorrow, to see if it makes any difference.

Best advice I could give you is update your DirectX 9 (new release last month) plus video drivers, and cross your fingers.
  • DiggsDiggs Posts: 1
    edited October 2009
    I'm also getting memory leak symptoms. Game will run like a charm for about 15 minutes and then slowly go downhill to the point where any more than 5 mobs on screen causes it to chug at like 2fps.

I should note as well, that I am on a semi-crappy few year old laptop and I am amazed at how well you guys did at allowing people to even play this game on such devices. :)
  • I'm getting the same issue, seems to be a memory leak as when I restart the game runs smoothly again for 20 minutes before another restart is needed.

For the Devs:

O/S: Windows 7 64-bit Profesional Edition
    Memory: 3Gb RAM
    Processor: AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core 2.00GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GForce 8200M G 1.5GB (0.5GB Dedicated 1GB shared)
  • IlsydeIlsyde Posts: 47
    Risingred wrote: