Everything was fine until 30

RoloRolo Posts: 16
edited March 2011 in Alchemist Discussions
Hello.

I just started playing Torchlight a few days ago, a battle alchemist on hard difficulty (normal was too easy). So far, game-play was great with good fights until floor 30--good grief man! :o It got disproportionately harder. I eventually completed floor 30, a map, and am now trying to do a Hatch quest. I hit a wall: I constantly have to retreat, use multiple potions per fight, pet constantly flees, and frequently get one-shotted. :?: What am I missing?

My build: Link (10 points each in Armour Expertise, Ember Shield, Ember Shock, and Magic Weapons)
I didn't choose Frailty (yet) since foes never stayed alive long enough to warrant it; now, instead, *I* don't stay alive long enough to use it. :oops:

My stats:
HP: 1572 MP 249
Damage: Str: 22/Mag: 66 (464-927) with a little life- and mana-steal (Staff)
Defence: 121 (374-747)
Resistances: 453/440/362/327 (I made it a point to get resistances as high as I could.)

My spells:
Elemental Protection V
Retribution IV
Dervish V
Silence V

Pet's spells (and on Defensive stance):
Heal All VI
Draining Touch III

My fun-factor tanked and I'm out of ideas; any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• adoomgodadoomgod Posts: 4,270
    Shoulda gone with summoner build sir.
    You're going to have to get lucky with enchanting your gear, also farm for better gear, also **** silence and draining touch for some zombies which heal you whenever they attack.
    Summoner build = teh bomb tho.
    cuA6w.png
    I put the "DOOM" in "****."