FAILED GAME CREATION

tuffjufftuffjuff Posts: 59
After browsing these forums, I haven't seen a post regarding this, but apologize if it's a double post.

I have the game, it runs fine. Bought it off Steam. I run it at my native resolution (1366x768) with everything maxed out, but sometimes when I try and load the game it will say "FAILED GAME CREATION" - only replace the "sometimes" with 95% of the time. When I get into the game, it has reset my resolution and disabled fullscreen mode, even though previously it had worked fine.

I also get this error when trying to turn on any form of Anti-Aliasing, like the game just refuses to want to turn on AA at all. I first assumed it was an AA problem, but when I initially exited the game a few minutes ago to go onto these forums, I notice the error message happening for no apparent reason, even when I just try and go into a previously working game with settings that also previously worked.

Pretty disappointing is all I can say. :\

Windows Vista 64-bit
2.26Ghz Core2Duo
4GB DDR-2 667
GeForce 9800M GT 512MB
320GB 7200RPM SATA-2 Seagate HD

I'm running 186.81 drivers on my 9800m, the latest available.

Nothing else running in the background except Steam (which is required to run, since I bought the game on Steam).

The bottom of the Ogre file says this, which I take as the game having a problem initializing my graphics card - funny considering everything from Supreme Commander to Crysis to Far Cry 2 and Wolfenstein run 100% fine on this laptop...

D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
00:05:10: Setting YRatio Init - 1
00:05:11: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Not available in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
00:05:11: Setting YRatio Init - 1
00:05:12: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Not available in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
2.26Ghz Core2Duo
4GB DDR-2 667
GeForce 9800m GT 512MB w/ 186.81
320GB 7200RPM Seagate
Windows Vista 64-bit SP2 (2 week old, fresh install)
«1

Comments

  • jamesLjamesL Posts: 3,568
    I get a similar error message in my log file,
    but my game starts up fine; a little slow, but it seems fine

    22:13:53: *-*-* OGRE Initialising
    22:13:53: *-*-* Version 1.6.4 (Shoggoth)
    22:13:53: Path for saving is ... C:/Users/jamesl/AppData/Roaming/Runic Games/Torchlight/SAVE
    22:13:54: Setting YRatio Init - 1.17188
    22:13:54: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Ran out of memory in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
    22:13:54: Setting YRatio Init - 1
    22:14:32: CreateViewports AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: CreateViewports AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 1
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 1
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1022 x 766
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1022 x 766
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.3342
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 0.997396
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1016 x 736
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1016 x 736
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.38043
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 0.958333
    22:14:32: setting fullscreen - 1016 x 736
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: Fullscreen Switch Setting YRatio - 0.958333
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1016 x 736
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1016 x 736
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.38043
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 0.958333
    22:14:32: WindowResized message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: WindowResized AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:32: WindowResized Setting YRatio - 1
    22:14:32: AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: stored res is - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:32: GAMEUI AspectRatio message - 1024 x 768
    22:14:32: GAMEUI AspectRatio message AR - 1.33333
    22:14:38: Seeding: -525716415
    I don't have a sig
  • RnFRnF Posts: 1,000
    I am getting the same error. Game will start up in safe mode in a smaller resolution. I can reset the settings as long as I don't set AA to on. I can play the game fine. Once I exit and restart the game I get this error. I will then restart the game one more time and it restarts in safe mode (assuming that is what the window mode is)

    I first had this game installed with the steam version of the game.

    I also have the file downloaded from the runic site (bought the game twice). I uninstalled the steam version and installed the runic site version. I get the exact same error in the same way. So this is not steam related.

    System:
    CPU P7450
    CUP: Nvidia 9800M GS 5123mb
    Operating System: Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
    4 Gig Memory
    Native Res: 1366x768
  • I was planning on buying the game from Steam, so I downloaded the demo and I am getting the error message. Sometimes it occurs when I try to launch the game and sometimes only when I turn anti-aliasing on. So this issue is occurring with the demo too.

    My system specs are:
    Vista Home Premium 64 bit
    AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core 2.30ghz
    4gb RAM
    ATi Radeon HD 3200 (integrated junk)
  • I have the same problem, I have the same system specs as tuffjuff:

    Windows Vista 64-bit
    2.26Ghz Core2Duo
    4GB DDR-2 667
    GeForce 9800M GT 512MB
  • SimielSimiel Posts: 2
    I get the same message when I activate antialiasing or when I start TL without safe mode.

    System specs:
    Notebook Asus
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
    4gb RAM
    Core 2 Duo p8600 2.40GHz
    Geforce G105m 512MB
  • Y2JieY2Jie Posts: 3
    I would like to bump this thread cause i also have the same problem, here's my Orge log

    22:43:07: Creating resource group General
    22:43:07: Creating resource group Internal
    22:43:07: Creating resource group Autodetect
    22:43:07: SceneManagerFactory for type 'DefaultSceneManager' registered.
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type Material
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type Mesh
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type Skeleton
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'ParticleSystem' registered.
    22:43:07: OverlayElementFactory for type Panel registered.
    22:43:07: OverlayElementFactory for type BorderPanel registered.
    22:43:07: OverlayElementFactory for type TextArea registered.
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type Font
    22:43:07: ArchiveFactory for archive type FileSystem registered.
    22:43:07: ArchiveFactory for archive type Zip registered.
    22:43:07: FreeImage version: 3.10.0
    22:43:07: This program uses FreeImage, a free, open source image library supporting all common bitmap formats. See http://freeimage.sourceforge.net for details
    22:43:07: Supported formats: bmp,ico,jpg,jif,jpeg,jpe,jng,koa,iff,lbm,mng,pbm,pbm,pcd,pcx,pgm,pgm,png,ppm,ppm,ras,tga,targa,tif,tiff,wap,wbmp,wbm,psd,cut,xbm,xpm,gif,hdr,g3,sgi,exr,j2k,j2c,jp2
    22:43:07: DDS codec registering
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type HighLevelGpuProgram
    22:43:07: Registering ResourceManager for type Compositor
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'Entity' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'Light' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'BillboardSet' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'ManualObject' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'BillboardChain' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'RibbonTrail' registered.
    22:43:07: Loading library .\RenderSystem_Direct3D9
    22:43:07: Installing plugin: D3D9 RenderSystem
    22:43:07: D3D9 : Direct3D9 Rendering Subsystem created.
    22:43:07: D3D9: Driver Detection Starts
    22:43:07: D3D9: Driver Detection Ends
    22:43:07: Plugin successfully installed
    22:43:07: Loading library .\Plugin_ParticleFX
    22:43:07: Installing plugin: ParticleFX
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'Point' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'Box' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'Ellipsoid' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'Cylinder' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'Ring' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Emitter Type 'HollowEllipsoid' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'LinearForce' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'ColourFader' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'ColourFader2' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'ColourImage' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'ColourInterpolator' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'Scaler' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'Rotator' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'DirectionRandomiser' registered
    22:43:07: Particle Affector Type 'DeflectorPlane' registered
    22:43:07: Plugin successfully installed
    22:43:07: Loading library .\Plugin_CgProgramManager
    22:43:07: Installing plugin: Cg Program Manager
    22:43:07: Plugin successfully installed
    22:43:07: Loading library .\Plugin_OctreeSceneManager
    22:43:07: Installing plugin: Octree & Terrain Scene Manager
    22:43:07: Plugin successfully installed
    22:43:07: Loading library .\ParticleUniverse
    22:43:07: Installing plugin: ParticleUniverse
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'PUParticleSystem' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'BoxSet' registered.
    22:43:07: MovableObjectFactory for type 'SphereSet' registered.
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'Billboard' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'Box' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'Sphere' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'Entity' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'RibbonTrail' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Renderer Type 'Light' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Point' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Line' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Box' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Circle' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'SphereSurface' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Vertex' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'MeshSurface' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Position' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Emitter Type 'Slave' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Dummy01' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'LinearForce' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Gravity' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'ParticleFollower' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Vortex' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Randomiser' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Line' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Scale' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'GeometryRotator' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'TextureRotator' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'TextureAnimator' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Jet' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Align' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'FlockCentering' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'CollisionAvoidance' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'VelocityMatching' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Colour' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'SineForce' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'Dummy02' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'SphereCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'PlaneCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'BoxCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'InterParticleCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Affector Type 'PathFollower' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnExpire' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnEmission' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnCount' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnEventFlag' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnCollision' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnVelocity' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnTime' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnPosition' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnClear' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnQuota' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Observer Type 'OnRandom' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoExpire' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoFreeze' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoPlacementParticle' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoStopSystem' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoEnableComponent' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoAffector' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle EventHandler Type 'DoScale' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Extern Type 'Gravity' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Extern Type 'SphereCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Extern Type 'BoxCollider' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Extern Type 'Vortex' registered
    22:43:07: ParticleUniverse: Particle Behaviour Type 'Slave' registered
    22:43:07: Plugin successfully installed
    22:43:07: *-*-* OGRE Initialising
    22:43:07: *-*-* Version 1.6.4 (Shoggoth)
    22:43:07: Path for saving is ... C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/Runic Games/Torchlight/SAVE
    22:43:08: Setting YRatio Init - 1
    22:43:08: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Not available in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
    22:43:08: Setting YRatio Init - 1
    22:43:09: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Not available in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)
    22:43:09: Setting YRatio Init - 1
    22:43:10: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Failed to create Direct3D9 Device: Not available in D3D9RenderWindow::createD3DResources at C:\svn\Projects\ogre161\RenderSystems\Direct3D9\src\OgreD3D9RenderWindow.cpp (line 611)

    ===================================================================================================
  • RnF wrote:
    I am getting the same error. Game will start up in safe mode in a smaller resolution. I can reset the settings as long as I don't set AA to on. I can play the game fine. Once I exit and restart the game I get this error. I will then restart the game one more time and it restarts in safe mode (assuming that is what the window mode is)

    That's exactly what happens to me! I get the error message every time I run the game, though - tad annoying.

    It sounds like you have an Asus G50 laptop, which is the same system (give or take) that I have - but this problem affects people with all kinds of configurations, from what I understand.
    2.26Ghz Core2Duo
    4GB DDR-2 667
    GeForce 9800m GT 512MB w/ 186.81
    320GB 7200RPM Seagate
    Windows Vista 64-bit SP2 (2 week old, fresh install)
  • Hey guys.

    Go to start > run and type dxdiag, hit enter, go to 'Display' and make sure it says 'Enabled' after 'Direct3D Acceleration'.

    This is usually a problem with drivers being improperly installed / not up to date.
  • RnFRnF Posts: 1,000
    tuffjuff wrote:
    RnF wrote:
    I am getting the same error. Game will start up in safe mode in a smaller resolution. I can reset the settings as long as I don't set AA to on. I can play the game fine. Once I exit and restart the game I get this error. I will then restart the game one more time and it restarts in safe mode (assuming that is what the window mode is)

    That's exactly what happens to me! I get the error message every time I run the game, though - tad annoying.

    It sounds like you have an Asus G50 laptop, which is the same system (give or take) that I have - but this problem affects people with all kinds of configurations, from what I understand.

    Don't you love those laptops! They are beasts, especially for the price.

    rfranknj wrote:
    Hey guys.

    Go to start > run and type dxdiag, hit enter, go to 'Display' and make sure it says 'Enabled' after 'Direct3D Acceleration'.

    This is usually a problem with drivers being improperly installed / not up to date.

    I will try this when I get home, thanks.
  • rfranknj wrote:
    Hey guys.

    Go to start > run and type dxdiag, hit enter, go to 'Display' and make sure it says 'Enabled' after 'Direct3D Acceleration'.

    This is usually a problem with drivers being improperly installed / not up to date.

    I'm pretty sure if it weren't Enabled the game wouldn't run period. I could be wrong, though.

    Also, my install of Vista is a little less than 2 weeks old, so it's a fresh install with freshly installed drivers. This error seems related specifically to Torchlight/is a Torchlight problem - it's been seen on a huge variety of system configurations.
    2.26Ghz Core2Duo
    4GB DDR-2 667
    GeForce 9800m GT 512MB w/ 186.81
    320GB 7200RPM Seagate
    Windows Vista 64-bit SP2 (2 week old, fresh install)
  • Y2JieY2Jie Posts: 3
    rfranknj wrote:
    Hey guys.

    Go to start > run and type dxdiag, hit enter, go to 'Display' and make sure it says 'Enabled' after 'Direct3D Acceleration'.

    This is usually a problem with drivers being improperly installed / not up to date.

    Thanks, but it is enabled. :(
  • Yeah, the Asus G50/G51 series is the best bang for the buck.

    I picked mine up for $1249 about a year ago, and now you can get the new one (G51 if I recall) for $1199 with a 17" screen, 2.53Ghz Core2, 6GB DDR-3 and GTX 260. My buddy's girlfriend just picked up a refurbishes G50 with the 2.13Ghz Core2Duo for $679 at Bestbuy's website, too.

    What's especially nice is they use the best laptop equipment you can get - the 320GB (and now 500GB) 7200rpm Seagate's are the fastest laptop hard drives, they use the fastest laptop RAM and they use the best Core2Duos (mobile) that you can get (Penryn, with 3MB Cache and 1066Mhz FSB versus Merom with 2MB Cache and 800Mhz FSB).

    The only faster option, really, is the G70 series (which features the Core2Quad) or an Alienware. But the G70 series starts at $1799 and the only real difference is the Quad ($600 extra for a processor that has double the cores but is 20% slower isn't really *that* great for games anyway, unless you're playing something like Supreme Commander), and the Alienwares will run you $2800+ for any discernable difference in hardware (SLI 260s, or a Quad or Corei7 that's faster).
    2.26Ghz Core2Duo
    4GB DDR-2 667
    GeForce 9800m GT 512MB w/ 186.81
    320GB 7200RPM Seagate
    Windows Vista 64-bit SP2 (2 week old, fresh install)
  • SimielSimiel Posts: 2
    may be an asus drivers problem?

    I have an asus n51
  • It's a problem with the game, not with drivers of any kind.
    2.26Ghz Core2Duo
    4GB DDR-2 667
    GeForce 9800m GT 512MB w/ 186.81
    320GB 7200RPM Seagate
    Windows Vista 64-bit SP2 (2 week old, fresh install)
  • Appears to be happening on my VISTA laptop, but not on my XP desktop. My guess is that it is a VISTA/Torchlight issue...
  • rfranknj wrote:
    Hey guys.

    Go to start > run and type dxdiag, hit enter, go to 'Display' and make sure it says 'Enabled' after 'Direct3D Acceleration'.

    This is usually a problem with drivers being improperly installed / not up to date.

    Mine is enabled too, so this probably isn't the problem.
  • Same error here, on a very different configuration.

    Phenom X3 710 / 4GB RAM / Vista 64 / nVidia GeForce 9800 GT

    It's very odd, because I can get it to work... sometimes, almost randomly. Safe mode does not seem to help, and I haven't had issues with any other games lately. Are any non-Steam users encountering this bug?
  • JerichJerich Posts: 1,665
    Appears to be happening on my VISTA laptop, but not on my XP desktop. My guess is that it is a VISTA/Torchlight issue...

    Did you try running as Administrator AttackGorilla? This was a problem in version 1.0, but should have been fixed in 1.1.

    - Jerich
  • RnFRnF Posts: 1,000
    madbrahms, it's not steam, I am using the client download from the Runic Site and I get the error.



    I have a temporary fix, which actually isn't that bad. (works for me anyway)

    If I keep the game in Windowed mode, I can not only use my native resolution, but I can also activate the AA option. When I exit the game, it saves my settings and when I re-open the game, no errors. The game really looks good with AA on!

    Hope this helps someone until they get this fixed.
  • I just launched the demo again and received the message, as usual it resets all of my video options. It sets it back to windowed mode and the resolution back to 640x480. My sound options didn't get reset.
  • KeinKein Posts: 2
    Same here.
    Enabling AA breaks the game.
    Vistax32SP2/GeForce 182.50/DX9upd_aug09
    C2Q/GTX260/4Gb
  • got that error also

    got an Acer Aspire 5536

    AMD Turion X2 2.2 GHZ
    4 GB Ram
    Radeon 4570
    Vista 32bit
  • mrfgmrfg Posts: 7
    I'm having this problem everyday...

    1) I try to run the game, and then the message FAILED GAME CREATION shows up, and close the game.
    2) Then I try to run it again, and it works, but on Windowed Mode (and resolution is set to 640x480, but it is actually 1024x768, same as desktop).
    3) I set it to 1024x768 Fullscreen Mode, and it works just fine (no AA though, with AA the game crashes with the same error)
    4) I play the game normally, then close it.
    5) Next time I try to run it, it goes back to (1), same error, closes, etc.

    I am using the client downloaded from the Runic Site. The same problem happened with the Demo downloaded through Steam (uninstalled before installing the full version).

    I can play the game, but its annoying having to run it twice and setting Fullscreen before playing every time...

    My System:

    Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400
    nVidia GeForce 7950 GT 512MB
    2 GB of RAM

    []s mrfg
  • VocalVocal Posts: 16
    Just to provide more information about this Error, I too got the Error upon starting the game from the ICON. However I had previously been clicking start>>programs>> (torchlight) to run the game.

    The game still loaded. But the error was on my desktop when I alt tabbed.

    I exited the game (thinking I don't want to start playing while theres an error with the startup.)

    I then came to the forums here and searched for the error thinking I must have broken something. After reading a few posts on the problem it appears its almost random and although it may seem like its an AA problem, I usually do not mess with my video card settings at all.

    I thought ok if I can duplicate this problem then maybe I can help. So.. I ran the game again by clicking start>>programs>>torchlight

    And it started fine with no errors.

    I then exited the game and clicked on the icon that I had created the last night before I went to bed (wich I clicked on originally to produce the error) and I did NOT get the error again. So, at this point I do not know what the problem could have been.

    I know this really doesnt Help anyone but it does provide more information on at least my situation. So far I am playing the game with no problems.
  • It doesn't actually seem to be an AA problem, at least for me. I've been able to get around it about 50% of the time by setting the game to 640x480 FS w / AA at first, then coming back and changing the resolution; it seems if I change the settings one at a time I have more luck.

    This is really sort of a voodoo fix, though, rather than anything sure-fire. Runic seems to be patching all sorts of things (woo!) so my money is on this disappearing soon - hopefully really soon, since it's **** annoying!
  • bidgetbidget Posts: 1
    I am having the same problem, only I have just recently installed the game and it hasn't even opened properly yet... I installed it originally on Windows 7 Pro 64bit, and it didn't even give me the "FAILED GAME CREATION" error. The icon would just appear on the taskbar, and I would have to end task because nothing would show up. I uninstalled it and tried installing it again in Windows XP Mode (for anyone unfamiliar it is a Windows XP emulator that comes with Windows 7 in case of compatibility issues) and now a Torchlight window will display, but after a second or two a box appears saying FAILED GAME CREATION and the program exits. I haven't installed the game under steam because paying for a game twice just seems like a waste... Sounds like this has been happening to a lot of people though so I hope someone can figure this out :) Oh and it's most likely not anything to do with my drivers or operating system as I just recently installed Windows 7 3 or 4 days ago.

    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    AMD Athlon X2 5000+ BE
    Gigabyte M57-SLI-S4 Rev 2.0
    2GB OCZ XTC Platinum Rev.2 PC2-6400
    eVGA GeForce 8800GT 512MB
  • *bump* - Exact same issue!
  • NaihonnNaihonn Posts: 243
    Yes, it really looks like Windows Vista/7 problem. My brother has Vista 32bit and of course same thing... 8-)
    calabash.png
  • StonerMk2StonerMk2 Posts: 109
    Ah was wondering about this little bug...ive gotten used to it and have started to just ignore it mostly. Sure its a slight hassle to have to reset my display settings everytime i launch the game, but id rather have the game work then have AA on.
    1213498071323.gif
  • AntiAnti Posts: 29
    Same problem here, i hope it gets a fix soon.
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.