total noob collision question

jamesLjamesL Posts: 3,568
edited August 2009 in General Modding
as stated in the thread title, I'm a total noob with 3d modeling
I have downloaded Blender, read through some tutorials and made some basic objects.
Blender includes a game engine and physics so its fairly easy to animate stuff like "ball rolling off a cliff and bouncing on the ground"
I've even been able to export some blender files and view them in the Ogre mesh viewer (haven't figured out how to export animations yet, although the exporter is supposed to be able to do that)

so yes I am clueless :D

but what I'd like to know is how collisions are handled by TorchLight. Are they something handled by the game or something I have to make ?

If this is a really stupid question.. well.. what can I say ? :D

for example: let's say I figure out how to use Blender to create a building with a door.
are the collision areas something extra that I create with Blender and export with the building ?
or do I just insert my building mesh into preditor and use preditor to mark the door walk thru-able and mark the walls as not walk thru-able and that's it ?

all the Blender tutorials I've read assume you're making meshes for use with the Blender game engine, so they don't even talk about exporting collisions; its more like: select physics from the menu, press the collision button to assign the collision attribute to the object and that's it;
so I doubt I can simply export the collision property as part of the mesh

I'm not asking for a Blender tutorial because I know that's way beyond the scope of any reasonable reply, I'm just asking if marking areas collidable is something I do in blender or in preditor ?
or am I just completely confused and I'm asking something that doesn't even make sense ?
I don't have a sig

Comments

• heronheron Posts: 637
    hey james,

im not sure how collision will work in TL but i can tell you how it works in fate.

props