Is a Wand a Ranged weapon?

mappammappam Posts: 24
edited January 2013 in Vanquisher Discussions
If a Vanquisher wants to use magic can a Wand (1-handed) be used with a pistol? Or dual wands?

Both wands and pistol (1-handed for dual use) use Range instead of melee but I am not sure if putting points into magic and using a wand is or has any advantages?

Thanks

Comments

• dreamriderdreamrider Posts: 1,727
    Easiest way to tell (I'm not running the game on this box or I would try). Start a new character. Give him/her a wand - only a wand. Look at the character stats. Does a damage range show up opposite Dex or Magic or both?

dreamrider
  • Thanks for the reply dreamrider!

I am still learning this game - only had it about a week and have not found a good guide that tells me "The Basics". I have noticed that in the skill area the numbers change from white to blue depending on what weapon(s) I am using. Example = if I am using a bow I will get blue numbers in the Dex skill, If I change to sword(s) the numbers in the Strength area change to blue. (I hope this makes sense?)

This tells me that if I want to continue using the Sword I need more strength. If I stay with Bow then I need to raise the Dex stats. So what you are saying is the way I can tell if Wand is Ranged I can watch the blue/white numbers of the skills??

I just deleted my first character because I had no clue what I was doing and I had just been putting skill points in each one every time I leveled up. She was a mess lol.

Thanks again - I will make a new character and try a wand - magic sounds like it might be fun to fiddle with on my Vanquisher.

PS - I did find a great pair of boots that require much more magic than my current character has - a pair of "set" boots that I (luckly) put into my Share Chest).

EDIT to add = Yes the Wand does show Dex and Magic. So can I "assume" that means a wand IS considered Ranged in this game?