Planned build - feedback requested

candlelightcandlelight Posts: 3
edited July 2012 in Alchemist Discussions
I'm a torchlight newb with a penchant for **** -- those two things don't always go well together, but I'll hopefully kill less characters as I learn more. It would help to have a workable build for **** "hard" difficulty, as well, and feedback about the broad outlines of the "mage" build I have down below would be helpful and appreciated:

Spells:
heal
heal all
silence
web

Spells on pet:
- protection spell(s)
- maybe silence or web

Skills:

Defensive:
Armor expertise (10) - early priority
Ember Phase (1, later 10) - 1 immediately, then build up late
Ember Shield (1, later 10) - 1 immediately, then build up late
Terror (1)
Defensive Magic (10) - slowly build up, starting early, spread across many levels
Block and parry (10) - later leveling priority

Offensive:
Ember bolt (10) - early priority
Ember Strike (10) - 1 point immediately, then build up mid-game
Critical Strikes (10) - early priority
Ember Sentry (1) - 1 point immediately
Frailty (10) - 1 or 2 points early, then a late priority

Utility:
Advanced Spellcasting (10) - not sure when this becomes important, I'll probably add points when mana seems to run low
Adventurer (5 - 10) - a few points early, then build up late
Treasure Hunter (1, later 10) - a point or two early, then build up late

Skills I have questions about:
Infuse - does it help skills based on % weapon damage, or only direct weapon usage?
Pet Mastery - How well does my pet hold up without it?

Planned gear:
1 - wand + shield for when I'm low on mana and want to snipe at range, general adventuring
2 - 2-hander weapon for alpha strikes and melee swinging

I'll not be using any mods (ie: respec, etc). Thank you in advance for any feedback provided.

Comments

• TheBatototTheBatotot Posts: 31
    Spells:
    heal
    heal all
    silence
    web