Optimal stat distribution

GastonPGastonP Posts: 60
edited March 2013 in Embermage Discussions
Hi, I'm new to the game and i want to play an embermage in Veteran. I've been reading several build's guides and some people put all points in focus while others distribute them between focus, vitality and dex. Also there are a few of them who puts some points in strengh.
I'm confused about this. How does a full focus build works? I mean, if i put all my points in focus i'll have a very low critical damage and critical chance.
Should I put some points in dextery, strengh and vitality too? If it's so, how should I distribute them?
I'm not planing to make a melee embermage. I'm going to use staffs or wands, maybe a shield.
Thanks

Comments

• gaston, the crux of the issue is this: str increases critical damage...that is, the multiplier you get when you score a critical hit

in order to achieve the highest damage, you need to crit often, and crit hard.

this presents some problems though, as many embermage skills only increase base damage via focus. what to do?! the answer is not simple. if you tell us some skills, then we can make some suggestions, but it really will vary a lot.

on the defensive side of the ball, the is vit. vit controls block chance, the second best defense in the game, ond one of the easiest to max.

however, you do need a shield, so tough cookies all you would be staff users!

dex is,the red headed child. everyone agrees you need "some" but opinions vary as to how much.
  • FinrazielFinraziel Posts: 505
    And if you end up not using a shield, just skip vit all together as it only gives a very small amount of HP then which can be better gained from gems. I'd suggest using a shield though, it helps a lot if you're not a total wizard at avoiding any and all attacks...
  • GastonPGastonP Posts: 60
    Thanks for your answers guys. The build i'm planning to use is something like this: