Some problems with making levels

GZombieGZombie Posts: 31
edited June 2013 in Levels
Hey guys

Very new modder to the TL scene, but I have about 15 years of modding experience with various other engines and so on.

Today I spent about 8 hours with the editor for the first time and I think it's pretty cool and I can forsee some cool content coming out of it.

My problems are so far is struggling with the documentation, it doesn't really tell you much in regards to build levels, I mean it touches on some info but leave blank a lot of other stuff.

So after lots of youtube, googling and looking at older TorchED tutorials I was able to Make some rules, make a random dungeon using existing chunks, make a new item, add it to a merchant and add that merchant to the map works room.

My problems started when making my own dungeons from scratch. First I noticed that if I used a certain tile set (I think the forest one) it didn't render in the editor when I switched to game mode, so I stuck with the catacomb set. No idea why this is.
I managed to build 3 chunks, and get them in to a custom layout (which isn't too much work once you get your head around how levels are structured). But when I built my mod and used "dungeon chunktest" I spawned in my dungeon with no floor and I couldn't run any where. This same floor worked when I tried it in game mode in the editor, so I figured it worked.

Is there a difference between an outdoor map and a dungeon? Why would my floor be missing in game? And why doesn't the forest tile set floor pieces render?

I also noticed tonight a few times that unless I manually copied and pasted my mod in to mygames folder my mod content wasn't working properly, which was quite frustrating.

If anyone could help, I'd really appreciate it, as I really want to make some cool new dungeons for people to play :)

Cheers

Zombie

Comments