Looking for a support build that is viable in solo

AlmystAlmyst Posts: 3
edited November 2013 in Engineer Discussions
Greetings runicgames forum and all its' users. TLDR at the end.

I'm very new to Torchlight 2 and have to admit that I've never played Torchlight 1. Nonetheless I'm really enjoying myself in this game. I do have one issue maybe some of you more experienced players could help me with. I'm looking for a good build to really, really support my friends but also viable for solo play. With this I mean what I write: I want to heal/buff/protect my friends when playing with them but I still want to be able to play on my own if that happens. I've been browsing the engineering forums and have read through the 1h+shield builds but I can't really find what I'm looking for, maybe I'm stupid but then so be it.

From what I've read there are plenty of focus heavy build or strength build with 1h+shield to be able to play on elite. None of these build are really clear if they are good for playing with others. I want a build that uses skills that my friends benefit from heavily. I want to be able to drop Healing bot, (maybe) gun bot and FF (forcefield), then run into the middle of the action and get the enemies attention and let my friends have a field-day killing everything and not have a care in the world regarding health/mana. How should I go about to achieve this? At the same time I don't want to cripple myself playing solo. I don't mind if it takes some time and maneuvering to kill bosses/trash as long as I can do it with in the range of killing bosses under 15 minutes and trash under 5 minutes. Is there any advice or specific threads you can point me to?

TLDR:
Want a supportive engineer build that lets my friend just KILL, KILL, KILL when I'm playing with them but still want to be able to play on my own, even if playing with my self takes a while (pun intended ;) ).

Warmest regard to this wonderful community,
/Almyst

Comments