File size?

Hardcore Discussion :: Guild Discussion

File size?

Postby k4llu5 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:57 am

Being the game is gonna be about 3-4 times larger, I'm guessing the file size for download will be about 1.2-1.5 GB. Perhaps larger I don't know.
User avatar
k4llu5
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:16 pm

Re: File size?

Postby hawkn » Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:45 am

Is this an issue? I have probably 300 gigs still available, and 600 used....
...I most certainly am not the meanest person on these forums, I defer that position to hawkn. ~ AMB2010
Image
Runic Games Fansite My Deviant
User avatar
hawkn
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:58 pm
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: File size?

Postby k4llu5 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:21 am

Good for u...
User avatar
k4llu5
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:16 pm

Re: File size?

Postby amb2010 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:25 am

What exactly would be the issue with that though? Most games now are around that 2-3gb mark and if you don't have room for it then someone needs to do some cleaning...

I got you beat hawkn with 1.5tb free and 500gb used :P Terabyte externals are ridiculously cheap now adays.
Image
Disclaimer: Above berating does not apply to those with a brain (usually).
User avatar
amb2010
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:52 pm
Location: Tucked inside a Mitten.

Re: File size?

Postby Omnifas » Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:35 am

Could be an issue of "I live in the country areas where there is no Broadband internet". Downloading 1 gb would take 50 hours or more at 5.6kbps.

Either it's Microsoft's compression for XBLA titles or Runic found a way to compress their files better, the 360 version of Torchlight is under 200mb.
User avatar
Omnifas
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: California

Re: File size?

Postby hawkn » Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:51 pm

I was assuming the OP was implying they didn't have enough HDD space available. Which confused me, because most computers (even 5 or more years old) had 80+ gig HDDs. Freeing up 1-5 gigs doesn't seem too hard.

Maybe I'm spoiled with my connection speeds now, but even when TL 1 came out, I only had 150 kbps, but I managed.

amb2010 wrote:What exactly would be the issue with that though? Most games now are around that 2-3gb mark and if you don't have room for it then someone needs to do some cleaning...

I got you beat hawkn with 1.5tb free and 500gb used :P Terabyte externals are ridiculously cheap now adays.

I only use my 1TB external for backups of media, and OS backups. My HDD is 1TB too, but idk what I'm going to do with this PC, because of all the issues I've been having. It's highly probable though that replacing the generic RAM that came with the computer will fix my blue screens, and I'll never speak of this again.... But spending $50 on 4 gigs of replacement RAM isn't too appealing atm.
...I most certainly am not the meanest person on these forums, I defer that position to hawkn. ~ AMB2010
Image
Runic Games Fansite My Deviant
User avatar
hawkn
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:58 pm
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: File size?

Postby turnipz » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:41 pm

Download a program called hw monitor, it may just be a heat issue that can be fixed with a can of compressed air or a leaf blower
User avatar
turnipz
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: File size?

Postby amb2010 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:30 pm

Ah I never thought about it being an internet problem. Buy the boxed version then? Pretty sure there's a boxed version... If it isn't available in your area then I don't know. Download it over night? That's just one of the flaws of downloading a game instead of getting a boxed version I suppose.
Image
Disclaimer: Above berating does not apply to those with a brain (usually).
User avatar
amb2010
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:52 pm
Location: Tucked inside a Mitten.

Re: File size?

Postby Metro » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:59 pm

Dial up is too fancy for me -- I use tin can and string internet.
User avatar
Metro
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:48 pm

Re: File size?

Postby Arkham » Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:10 pm

amb2010 wrote:Ah I never thought about it being an internet problem. Buy the boxed version then? Pretty sure there's a boxed version... If it isn't available in your area then I don't know. Download it over night? That's just one of the flaws of downloading a game instead of getting a boxed version I suppose.

I would bet the boxed version will be sold over Amazon. TL1's boxed version was.
It might also be sold online through places like Gamestop, since they stock TL1 on their shelves in-store.
So even if it's not sold in his area, he could still just have it delivered.
Image

Mods:
Arkham's Armory (TL2) | Lego Wizard pet (TL1)

Check out the Torchlight fan group #The-Lure-of-Ember on dA!
User avatar
Arkham
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: File size?

Postby k4llu5 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:26 pm

I was just lookin for insight to what people thought the amount would be, not that it was an issue.
User avatar
k4llu5
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:16 pm

Re: File size?

Postby hawkn » Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:35 pm

At least 5 gigs would not surprise me.
...I most certainly am not the meanest person on these forums, I defer that position to hawkn. ~ AMB2010
Image
Runic Games Fansite My Deviant
User avatar
hawkn
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:58 pm
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: File size?

Postby amb2010 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:45 pm

Ah well then. I'll guess 3-4gb.
Image
Disclaimer: Above berating does not apply to those with a brain (usually).
User avatar
amb2010
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:52 pm
Location: Tucked inside a Mitten.

Re: File size?

Postby Arkham » Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:29 pm

hawkn wrote:At least 5 gigs would not surprise me.

In terms of installer size, it seems like they'd probably try to fit it onto 1 dvd for the boxed version, which would put it under 5.
Uncompressed and installed, yeah, 5 GB or larger seems like a safe bet.
Image

Mods:
Arkham's Armory (TL2) | Lego Wizard pet (TL1)

Check out the Torchlight fan group #The-Lure-of-Ember on dA!
User avatar
Arkham
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: File size?

Postby pothb » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:06 pm

1 dvd can fit more than 5 gigs, there are dual layered discs after all,
pothb
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:52 pm

Re: File size?

Postby Arkham » Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:05 pm

That's true. I hadn't thought of that. I must've been thinking of the 4.7 GB limit (well, more like 4.3-ish limit) on standard consumer-level burnable DVDs.
Image

Mods:
Arkham's Armory (TL2) | Lego Wizard pet (TL1)

Check out the Torchlight fan group #The-Lure-of-Ember on dA!
User avatar
Arkham
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: File size?

Postby adoomgod » Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:07 am

Sigh. Because nobody used this meme yet on this thread.
It's going to be.... OVER 9000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! kilobytes.
Image
I put the "DOOM" in "Sexy."
User avatar
adoomgod
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: New York City

Re: File size?

Postby hawkn » Thu Jul 14, 2011 1:45 pm

That's like 9 megs.
...I most certainly am not the meanest person on these forums, I defer that position to hawkn. ~ AMB2010
Image
Runic Games Fansite My Deviant
User avatar
hawkn
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:58 pm
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: File size?

Postby turnipz » Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:31 pm

Over 9 megs, sounds somewhat reasonable.
User avatar
turnipz
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: File size?

Postby adoomgod » Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:41 am

Well I'm not wrong :]! (Seriously i know it's only 9megs. That's the point. It will be over 9 megs)
Image
I put the "DOOM" in "Sexy."
User avatar
adoomgod
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: New York City

Next

Return to Torchlight II General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests