Camera Mod

Want to share your mod with the world? Feel free!

Camera Mod

Postby Aralana » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:32 am

Here is the camera mod I wrote for Torchlight 2. It also works with the first game. Source code included.
You need to put the files TL2Cam.exe, TL2Cam.dll and TL2Cam.ini in the same folder as Torchlight2.exe.

http://www39.zippyshare.com/v/96628732/file.html

Oct 05, 2012:
New version.
Added a gui to change the settings and a reset camera button.
Last edited by Aralana on Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Aralana
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:48 am

Re: Camera Mod

Postby kalamari157 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:37 am

Sweet, although it seems to reset every so often.

I know a lot of people want to change the perspective of their game.
| How to extract/edit TL2 item files, V012 [With images] I am no longer active in the modding community. If you wish to take a project that I have made, besides the 'How to extract/edit TL2 item files', and change it as your own, you may do so.
User avatar
kalamari157
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:13 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Aralana » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:07 am

I think I know why it might reset but I couldn't get it to do it. I've uploaded a new one and changed the download link in my original post.
User avatar
Aralana
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:48 am

Re: Camera Mod

Postby kalamari157 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:52 am

Awesome, now it works! Thanks.
| How to extract/edit TL2 item files, V012 [With images] I am no longer active in the modding community. If you wish to take a project that I have made, besides the 'How to extract/edit TL2 item files', and change it as your own, you may do so.
User avatar
kalamari157
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:13 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby sirdaecon » Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:36 pm

Any screenshot for the supposed change in camera?
sirdaecon
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Hyst3riaV2 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:19 pm

Yeah, could we get screenshots or at least a description? "A camera Mod I made" isn't telling us much.
User avatar
Hyst3riaV2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:51 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby jamesL » Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:22 pm

start the cam program
start TL2

once you're inside TL2 press and hold Shift and your Middle mouse button at the same time then move your mouse

that changes the camera angle

you can make the camera very low and behind you
you can move the camera left and right

it's an interesting way to play and very cool mod
(although I find it very difficult to play with it)
I don't have a sig
jamesL
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:01 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Arkham » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:06 pm

Has anyone noticed any obvious missing portions of the world when using this, or do things look okay?
Image

Mods:
Arkham's Armory (TL2) | Lego Wizard pet (TL1)

Check out the Torchlight fan group #The-Lure-of-Ember on dA!
User avatar
Arkham
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Dantalia222 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:58 am

Can someone PLEASE make a short video of the mod ?
Just wanna see how it looks .
User avatar
Dantalia222
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby FOE » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:19 am

Hello Aralana!

Awesome! :D

Works fine! Thank!

But ... A Reset-Button, to set view to standard would be fine.

//Edit

And maybe 2 Buttons to start the Launcher and/or TL2 from your program. ;)
Servus, Erwin
--
Intel DP35DP, Intel QuadCore Q6600, 4096 MB DDR2, GeForce GTX260/216, FujSie L22W-8, Win7 Pro x64
--
» My Torchlight 1 Char's @ German Fansite Torchlight Source
FOE
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:21 am
Location: Vösendorf (near Vienna), Austria

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Arkham » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:47 pm

FOE wrote:And maybe 2 Buttons to start the Launcher and/or TL2 from your program. ;)

You could probably make a simple batch file to do that. Shouldn't be too hard.
Image

Mods:
Arkham's Armory (TL2) | Lego Wizard pet (TL1)

Check out the Torchlight fan group #The-Lure-of-Ember on dA!
User avatar
Arkham
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Camera Mod

Postby myhideout6 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:04 pm

Very nice for a start haven't tested much areas but like the view so far. Kinda like the first torch cam with tl1 but this let's you have almost a full top down view as well.

So far I haven't noticed any incomplete models yet buy I've ran mostly map runs today

Is it possible to change the camera control to a different button? Besides middle mouse button?
Such as holding right click instead?
Cheaters Never Prosper! :) Our World is riddled with Cheats and Frauds good thing they downloaded Rapid Respec or i would probably keep trying to accept their quest!
Steam = mikerobinsond
User avatar
myhideout6
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: Camera Mod

Postby FOE » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:53 am

Arkham wrote:You could probably make a simple batch file to do that. Shouldn't be too hard.

Of course ... ;)
Servus, Erwin
--
Intel DP35DP, Intel QuadCore Q6600, 4096 MB DDR2, GeForce GTX260/216, FujSie L22W-8, Win7 Pro x64
--
» My Torchlight 1 Char's @ German Fansite Torchlight Source
FOE
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:21 am
Location: Vösendorf (near Vienna), Austria

Re: Camera Mod

Postby boot » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:45 am

Any way to set permanent cameradistance without this exe?
Image
User avatar
boot
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: North of the wall

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Aralana » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:53 am

You can change the button you need to hold by editing the ini file. As well as adjust the sensitivity.
You can find a list of keycodes here:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/dd375731(v=vs.85).aspx

So to have it as the right mouse buttons you would have "key=2" in the ini file.

I'm currently woking on a UI to change these settings.

Anyone have any thoughts on a default for the reset camera button?


As for missing bit of the map, i've noticed a few here and there but it's generally not too bad. When someone from Runic posted that they were "optomising" it by removing things you would never normally see I was kind of worried that the game would be unplayable. I played far too much Dungeon Siege to go back to a fixed camera.
User avatar
Aralana
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:48 am

Re: Camera Mod

Postby fgaaghf » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:59 pm

Nice mod, thanks for making it.

I tried adding custom zoom, since the default zoom isn't very good. It works fine, but it isn't any better, because the player model starts fading out if you try to get any closer than normal zoom. I wonder how I could fix that.

As for the reset camera key, I usually use backspace or delete for them.
Also if you are adding features, might I suggest free look, or at least something that allows moving the center of view away from the ground directly below the character. I tried adding something like that, but didn't have much luck.
User avatar
fgaaghf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:13 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby oneOverZero » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:34 pm

All I have to say is...outstanding! thankyou very much for this (should help me to keep my hardcore chars alive a bit longer!)
oneOverZero
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby Nythain » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:46 pm

Aralana wrote:Anyone have any thoughts on a default for the reset camera button?

My vote is for HOME with DELETE coming in a very very very close second.
My TL2 Mods:
No More Scrolls - viewtopic.php?f=48&t=43701
Change Enchanters - viewtopic.php?f=48&t=43659
Nythain
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:16 am
Location: KyCitia

Re: Camera Mod

Postby jamesL » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:52 pm

Aralana wrote:Anyone have any thoughts on a default for the reset camera button?


Alt F4
I don't have a sig
jamesL
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:01 pm

Re: Camera Mod

Postby ogboot » Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:28 pm

I poked around in the netherworld and everything seemed to render just fine, but i'm sure there may be some trouble spots.
There is no cheating in Torchlight.
ogboot
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:08 pm

Next

Return to Mod Showcase

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests