Torchlight Character Creation Workflow Questions

Forum for discussing the Torchlight mod toolset.

Torchlight Character Creation Workflow Questions

Postby BradMyers82 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:20 pm

Hey there, I heard about this game over at polycount, and I am really interested in it (mainly, I love the art direction).
However, I am completely new to the game engine torchlight uses (its Ogre 3d right?).
So I was wondering if anyone could shine some light on a few things for me.

How are models and animations imported into the game engine?
(what file type would they be exported as from 3ds max for example).

Is there lighting that effects character models, or is the lighting simply painted into the diffuse textures of the character models?

How difficult would it be to create your own main character or enemy, and get him working in game?

Does the game engine have a model viewer or something comparable, so you can quickly checkout how your characters look in-game?

That's all for now, btw, I'm a 3d character artist and I would love to use Torchlight engine as a basis for creating content for my portfolio. I'm just trying to workout a plan of attack here, so I can quickly get up and running when Torchlight is released.

Thanks in advance!

-Brad
Freelance Artist: www.BradM3D.com
BradMyers82

Re: Torchlight Character Creation Workflow Questions

Postby Webbstre » Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:17 pm

BradMyers82 wrote:Hey there, I heard about this game over at polycount, and I am really interested in it (mainly, I love the art direction).
However, I am completely new to the game engine torchlight uses (its Ogre 3d right?).

I'll take a shot at some of these! I'm not graphics artist but this is what I have heard. This link holds some of what we know about the modelling and stuff. Here is the direct quote that applies to your question:
Exporting models